jump to navigation

Review – Full Blooded August 29, 2012

Posted by thehypermonkey in 4.5 stars, Urban Fantasy.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Title: Full Blooded

Author: Amanda Carlson

Publication Date: September 11, 2012

Publisher: Orbit

ISBN-13: 978-0316205207

Available at: Amazon Kindle Barnes and Noble

Summary:

At twenty-six years old Jessica McClain has finally made the full change into a female werewolf. The problem is she’s the only female werewolf in existence. Can she escape the prophecy that signifies she’s the doom of the werewolves?  And can she escape those that wish to simply own her for being so unique?

Review:

I loved the novella Blooded. (See my review here.) I was eagerly anticipating Full Blooded and I even pre-ordered it, so when Amanda Carlson asked me if I wanted an advance copy of the book I was ecstatic.

Let’s start with the whole female werewolf thing. It’s rare to see an author touch upon a heroine who’s a werewolf so well. It’s being done more and more lately, but it was really done well in this book. She wasn’t dependent on changing with the full moon. Her wolf was more like an alter ego that she could  communicate with. The werewolves also had a limited telepathic ability I thought was a nice addition. Needless to say I was impressed.

As far as Jessica goes, I really liked her. She had a direct was of handling her problems that I admired. Here she was, the lone female werwewolf in a pack of werewolves not to mention the supernatural community and she handled it. She kept her cool during the most stressful of times. She had a lot of fight in her. Almost obstinately so. At one point Rourke had to pull her kicking and screaming from a fight she had no chance of winning.

So let’s get to Rourke. He came along later in the book and he was a treat. Maybe it was because he was such a late addition there wasn’t as much character development as I would have liked. With the other characters I felt I knew them more because I had been introduced to them either in the novella or earlier in the book. Rourke was still fun to read about as he was commanding and sexy. I’m looking forward to reading more about him in future books.

I also really liked the vampires. They weren’t your run of your mill vampires and they weren’t of the glamorous sexy variety either. They definitely had a horrific element to them. Add in witches and you have a very exciting UF book!

The end of the book does leave you hanging and wanting more. So consider yourself warned. The next book, Hot Blooded is due out on April 13, 2013 and I’m already eagerly awaiting it.

*A free copy was provided by the author for an honest review.

Comments»

1. Blog Tour – Full Blooded | The Akamai Reader - September 4, 2012

[…] of the Blog Tour for Full Blooded and to have Amanda Carlson on the blog. You can see my review for  Blooded,the novella here and Full Blooded,the second […]


Leave a Reply

