jump to navigation

Review – The Demon Hunters July 15, 2012

Posted by thehypermonkey in 4 stars, Urban Fantasy.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Title: The Demon Hunters

Author: Linda Welch

Publisher:  Linda Welch

Publication Date: August 26, 2009

ASIN: B002WYJPKI

Available at: Amazon –  Barnes and Noble

From Goodreads:

The sequel to Along Came a Demon:

I’m Tiff Banks and I talk to the violently slain. I’ve learned to live with that, in fact I’ve made a career out of it.

Ex-detective Royal Mortensen and I opened our own investigative agency, and I thought we made a good team. I felt secure in our personal relationship too, until our new clients turned up. Why did Royal take them on without consulting me, and why are they withholding information which could help solve their case? I don’t think they’re human, and Royal knows exactly what they are, but refuses to tell me. I think there’s a lot Royal isn’t telling me.

I discovered that while I looked into the disappearance of author Gia Sabato’s lover, Royal investigated something far more sinister. Are the two cases connected? Does an authentic nineteenth-century journal have anything to do with either?

When the case turns ugly, so does my relationship with the one man I’ve come to trust. So I’ll do what I do best: pound the pavement and talk to dead people. The dead are always watching, they can do nothing else. They whisper to me.

Review:

Tiff Banks doesn’t understand why her lover Royal Mortensen has suddenly withdrawn and has left her out of the loop with these new clients. She’s hurt and she’s become insecure. Instead of crying in her milk, she takes action. Tiff investigates the case Gia gave them by questioning her dead informants as well as her living informants. She also uses the brains she has to ferret out information about her clients that wasn’t previously known.

If I hadn’t come to admire Tiff in the first book, I would have come to admire her in the second. She showed a backbone and a spirit that I would have liked to have her in situation. The one man, the one person she finally learned to trust, after trust had become so foreign and difficult to her, broke that trust. Yet she didn’t break down herself.

The plot in this book may have been done before but it was fresh enough to be interesting. There was enough mystery added to keep you guessing and wondering and you were sufficiently dazzled by all that was happening.

At the end of the book I still had a lot of questions left unanswered but I think that was intentional. Maybe it’s a lead-off into another book. It was a little unsatisfying.  On the whole, I did enjoy this story even though it wasn’t as great as the first book.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

